top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCoach Ronarid

Matchday 1 Preview - Play Dead, Doggie


So, a Dr Who themed Necromantic team up first. I'll be honest, I think Necro are a shit team - lazily put together. Wolves are obviously brilliant, debatably second or third best players in the game and Tomb Guardians having Stand Firm out of the box is interesting (/annoying), but the rest of the team is so boring, just cut and paste from the Undead. I hope GW will do something to the team when they reissue them to make them more distinctive, but that risks a catastrophic piss boiling incident at Talk Fantasy Football and the NAF - I don't think even GW is brave or stupid enough to disenfranchise anyone who is so committed to the game they will spend 8 pages debating whether Really Stupid is better than Wild Animal or not.


Looking at the team we see an interesting roster - by interesting I mean it's 50% as good as it should be as it only has a single Wolfie. Here's the roster:


So we have a block Golem, Guard Wight and just a single Blodging Ghoul and a Wolf without any skills. My little chaps are going to be licking their lips at a blockless Doggie. Definitely time to throw some bodies at him and eventually drag him down for an introduction to the soles of their boots.


Strategy-wise it will be the usual, avoid the Wights and Golems and try and target the two flair players. Unfortunately they will be faster than the pudding posse, so if we have to take down a Wight instead (who will be doing most of the blocking I suppose, then it's still only AV8 we have to stomp through.


I've never played against Necros as Halflings before, there's not much sport in fouling out Zombies, so I expect him to use them to tie up the trees, but with only 1 spare player, a few injuries or KO'd Zombies and I'll have a chance at keeping the numbers fairly even, especially with no Tackle... there's also not a huge amount of Block, so if the Chef does his work we will have a fighting chance. Looking at the TV, I can roster another Fling for a deeper bench and still have a Master Chef and maybe a bribe.... or even Puggy could make an appearance if I've done my sums right. Now that would be something to see in the match opener, a real statement of intent to the league...


Prediction

  • 2-1 to Carrion Screaming Again after Coach Will sacrifices his Wolf to the melee and scores a second with his ghoul

  • 4-4 in CAS with a Stat Bust to the Werewolf

31 views0 comments
bottom of page